Friends no more

I am sorry, but we can’t be friends anymore
Although ours was once a friendship I adored
for many years we had good times, played some music and drank some wine
Arms linked in arms we would laugh many times
But I am sorry we can’t be friends anymore

Although kindness, goodness, In you I’d see
Even should we sometimes find we disagreed
There always was a you and me
but now we can’t be friends anymore

For you hid well your racist views,with not a word would you abuse
And you hid well your bigotry, It was so well hidden I didn’t see
But in Social media it’s all come to light
I see what you say, and what you write
It is so wrong in what you delight
that we can not be friends anymore

You view friends we both share as foreigners
Not a word to them, but on their likes you curse
Xenophobic garbage you will share
And of your bitterness I must despair
I could lay the blame on the English press
and the British media for such a mess
As the Government spreads its fear en masse
On the basest sectarianism it plays alas

And so it seems you share their views
The Fascist blackshirts have a friend in you
And when you cast vitriol on Scottish liberty
When you deny our right to be set free
Then at least I know where you really stand
And i withdraw my friendship, and withdraw my hand

And with regret, we can’t be friends anymore

Rod Macfarlane

Leave a Reply

